Nakamatsu and Amenda meet Mozart and Dohnanyi

Sunday November 18, 2018 at 7:30 pm

Jon Nakamatsu  piano
Amenda Quartet
    David Brickman and Patricia Sunwoo violins
    Melissa Matson viola
    Mimi Hwang  cello

Ernö Dohnanyi: Serenade in C major for String Trio, Op. 10
Piano Quartet in E-flat major, K. 493
Ernö Dohnanyi: Piano Quintet No. 1 in C minor, Op. 1

     NOTE: This concert will be the FINAL concert of the First Muse Chamber Music series.

     We're absolutely thrilled that Jon Nakamatsu has made time during his upcoming RPO visit to join his good friends in the Amenda Quartet for not one, but TWO chamber music works!
     Before Jon takes the stage, three-quarters of the Amenda Quartet will open the program with Dohnanyi's Serenade for String Trio, Op. 10. Hungarian composer Ernö Dohnanyi may not be as well known as his contemporaries Bartók and Kodály, but this five-movement delicacy may be the most popular of his compositions. Audiences and performers alike are taken in by these charming and playful character pieces, incuding a march, a romance (with an unbeatably beautiful viola melody!), and a lively and fiendish scherzo.
     In the mid 1780s Mozart was commissioned to write three piano quartets at the behest of publisher Hoffmeister. Once the first one was completed (K. 478 in G minor) its complexity was considered to be too challenging for amateur musicians to perform. Although Hoffmeister cancelled the rest of the commission, Mozart did write a second work for the combination - we will be performing this work, the Piano Quartet in E-flat major, K. 493. The Allegro first movement exudes warmth and congeniality in its plethera of melodic elements, showcasing both virtuosic and collaborative piano writing. Following the expressive dialogues of the Larghetto, the Allegretto brings the work to a sparkling and rollicking conclusion.
      Completing the evening's "Mozart sandwich" will be Dohnanyi's Piano Quintet in c minor, Op. 1. In his youth Dohnanyi was a prodigious pianist - he wrote this work in 1895 before he turned twenty, while a student at the Liszt Academy of Music in Budapest. Much of its ethos reflects the influence of German Romantic era composers such as Brahms and Schumann. It was very well received at the time by the public, and it is reported that Brahms' response to hearing the work was "nobody could write it better." We will end the concert with this journey through richness and lyricism.

Our post-concert reception will be presented by the First Unitarian Church's RAIHN task force - recipients of 25% of this concert's ticket revenue.

$15 general / $5 student / $30 family maximum
First Unitarian Church - 220 Winton Road South - Rochester NY 14610

Click here for Ticket Information
Questions? Email